Day 10

Roasted Red Pepper Pesto/Roasted Red Pepper and White Bean Dip

Image

This was a fun one since no one in my family could decide if i should make the dip or the pesto. I decided to cut the recipe in half so that we could try each. I’d have to say my favorite of the two was the dip, because the white beans added a little extra flavor and just made more sense to eat with a chip.The pesto was great, just really thick and needed some extra salt.

I think the key with these recipes is to roast the red peppers fresh. This also kept the dip and sauce warm so extra cooking wasn’t necessary. I just roasted them the same way I did the brussel sprouts, with olive oil and a lot of salt and pepper. I included a picture up top of the red peppers after being roasted. I secretly just wanted to eat them like that.

I’ll ACTUALLY post pictures of the kitchen that I’m cooking in soon.

Girlichef Recipe:

Ingredients (serves 4-8)

  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 c. walnuts
  • 4 roasted red bell peppers
  • 2 c. cooked (or canned) and drained cannellini beans
  • 1 c. fresh basil, optional
  • ½ c. olive oil
  • salt
  • freshly ground black pepper

Instructions

Pulse the garlic in a food processor until finely chopped. Add the walnuts and pulse a few more times to break up any large pieces.

Add the roasted red peppers and basil and process, streaming in the oil as you go, until all the ingredients are well combined and as coarse or as smooth as you want them. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and serve immediately with crudités, crostini, or vegetable chips, or spread on sandwiches or toss with pasta.

Store in a covered airtight container in the fridge for a day or so, or freeze.

Leave a Reply

